“Food is symbolic of love when words are inadequate.” -Alan D. Wolfelt

6 Aug

Have you ever had one of those days when food is the only thing that makes you feel better? I know I’ve had my fair share. And sure, running to the deli at midnight to grab some chocolate or ice cream will usually do the trick, but nothing is quite the same as having a home-cooked meal. Now that I’m in college, I appreciate homemade food so much more. When I go home, I can’t wait to see which recipes my mom has in her queue.

At the end of the school year, I came home for a weekend right before finals. I was stressed out of my mind, and in my delirious studying state, I blurted out, “I wish we had some chocolate chip cookies.”

I continued studying, and about an hour later, I was pleasantly surprised by the smell of chocolate chip cookies coming from the oven. It was like magic, and I was so happy I could have cried. I ran out of my room, gave my mom a huge hug, and said, “I feel bad, Mom. You didn’t have to bake!” And of course, as moms do, she said, “It’s fine!”

Don’t get me wrong; I’m not saying that my mom’s words would have been inadequate and unable to console me. But at that moment, those cookies said “I love you” much better than either one of us could have.

Leave a Reply

