Holiday Cocktails:Orange French 75

21 Nov

The holidays are a time for friends, family and lots and lots of food.  It’s a time where I like to make everything as special as possible and that includes the drink in my hand.  Growing up, my mom would buy sparkling grape juice for my brother and I to drink out of wine glasses during the Thanksgiving meal.  I loved how special and grown up that bubbly juice in the fancy glass made me feel.  Now that I’m actually all grown up, I still like to have a special cocktail to serve to friends, and myself, over the holidays.

I wanted to create a drink that involved items that I already have on hand during the holidays.  Cranberries and oranges are always in my fridge this time of year, as well as sparkling wine.  The French 75 is one of my favorite cocktails of all time and I thought it would be a fun drink to revamp for Thanksgiving.  Instead of using lemon juice, I squeezed all those extra oranges I had and made cranberry infused ice cubes for this fun, festive and potent cocktail!

Cranberry-Orange French 75

Ingredients for Cocktail

1 jigger/shot gin
1 jigger/shot fresh squeezed orange juice
Champagne, prosecco or sparkling white wine
Cranberry ice cubes

Ingredients for Cranberry Ice Cubes

1/2 cup fresh cranberries
1 cup water
Ice cube tray
1 tbsp sugar

Directions for Ice Cubes

Bring cranberries, sugar and water to boil. Once boiling, lower heat and let simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.Place cooked cranberry mixture in fridge to cool. Once mixture is cooled, place 1/2 tsp of cranberry mixture in each cube of ice cube tray and cover with water.  Place in freezer to freeze

Leave a Reply

