#Meatless Monday: White Bean Ragout

11 Feb

IMG_0777

I picked up a copy of Bon Appétit magazine in an airport many many months ago and hadn’t paid much attention to it since.  This past week I remembered a recipe I had seen in that magazine and spent the better part of the afternoon digging around my apartment trying to find the magazine so I could make this dish I suddenly had my heart set on.  Being a packrat paid off and I eventually found the magazine and the recipe.

A mixture of chopped onion and bell pepper slowly cooked in olive oil creates a soffritto-like mixture that makes the base of this amazing dish.  Seriously.  This dish will BLOW YOUR MIND.  It’s so good, so full of flavor and so very easy.  In the Bon Appétit article they served this over hunks of garlic toast.  I served mine over this funky pasta from the local organic grocery store along with garlic toast to bulk it up.  This dish is definitely worth making again and again AND worth saving all the leftovers for days two and three.  It’s one of the best dishes I’ve ever made and it just happens to be vegan!

White Bean Ragout from Bon Appétit

*Note:  If you have the article or go to the article please note, I roughly halved my recipe.  I also think this is a recipe you can kiiind of eyeball the quantities and it will be A-OK!

Yields 4 servings

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb of cooked pasta of your choice (I used this funky stuff called rombi but fusilli or penne  would totally work)
  • 2 medium onions, chopped (I used yellow onions)
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, 3 finely grated and 1 halved
  • 1/4 cup olive oil plus more
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 15 ounce can cannelini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cups vegetable broth, divided
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 2 tbsp flat leaf parsley, chopped

Directions

Boil your pasta.  Pulse onions and pepper in food processor (or finely chop by hand) until finely chopped but not totally pureed.  Mix together in a bowl and set aside.  Heat olive oil in a heavy skillet over medium heat.  Add onion and pepper mixture, season with salt and pepper and cook for about 30 minutes (until vegetables are soft and cooked through).  Add finely grated garlic and tomato paste and stir until mixture turns deep red, about 3 minutes.

At this point the recipe says to take your soffritto mixture and divide it, setting one half aside and storing one half in the freezer for later use.  I didn’t do this.  I used ALL that sofrito and my dish turned out flavorful and awesome.  But if you want to conserve some of the mixture then go for it.  The whole point of this mixture is that with a few simple ingredients cooked down slowly the flavors are intensified so a little goes a long way.  I just happen to like flavor to the max in my dishes so I used it all.

At this point you need the mixture in the skillet and it’s time to add in the beans.  Cook soffritto and beans over medium heat, stirring often until cooked through, should take a minute or two.  Stir in one cup of broth and cup of white wine and bring to a boil.  Let simmer, stir and scrape up all the tasty bits stuck to the bottom of the pan.

Add tomatoes and remaining cup of broth.  Simmer until tomatoes are tender, about 5 minutes.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Garnish with parsley and serve over pasta.  Or serve it over garlic toast.  Or serve it with both!  So many options!

Leave a Reply

